Day 3 – Beautiful

For years I was ashamed to reveal my bare legs. So much so that I refused to wear shorts, skirts, or dresses unless I also wore some sort of hosiery to cover them up. I have varicose veins that, to me, have always been unsightly. In addition to that, my legs also happen to be about three shades lighter than the rest of my body, so their paleness didn’t help the situation-in fact it seemed to highlight it!

I would often go shopping and look at shorts, skirts, and dresses. I would go so far as to try them on, but very seldom purchased them. If I did, they would sit in my closet with the tags still on until I gave them away. I tried just about every treatment they have on the market to remedy my veins, but nothing really seemed to work. Besides, the treatment wasn’t cheap either.

It wasn’t until I began working on this particular chapter of Divinely Defined that I asked the Lord to give me the courage to live what I was writing about. I prayed that He would help me to love everything about myself just the way He created. I also prayed that He would give me the courage to show my legs and not be ashamed anymore. Deliverance came in small steps (and it is still taking place), but I am so happy to say that this past summer was the first summer in many years that I not only purchased, but also wore with pride shorts, skirts, and dresses – and it felt good! Somewhere during this process of healing and deliverance, I also thought about how I would feel if I didn’t have the legs I complained endlessly about. That’s when my complaints turned into a genuine thank you and celebration of the “me” God created!

What about you? Do you have testimonies as to  how you have begun to love and appreciate the YOU God made? Or, are you currently struggling with embracing the marvelous masterpiece called YOU, because something about yourself isn’t quite the way you would like for it to be?

Whatever your answer, the truth remains that you are a beautiful masterpiece!

Hope you are having a great day, Divinely Defined One!

Love,

Dana

Leave a Reply

