Don’t Make a Rash Decision in a Temporary Situation

Don’t Make a Rash Decision in a Temporary Situation

Are you experiencing a difficult set of circumstances in your life right now? Have you grown tired of praying, trusting, and waiting for God to intervene? Are you so desperate for relief that you are tempted to bring this season to a rapid end by devising your own plan of escape? If this is you, my response is: “Don’t make a rash decision in a temporary situation, you just might miss your blessing!

I am in such a season right now, and have been for longer than I would care to admit. Although I don’t like it and so look forward to change, I am convinced beyond all convincing that God knows exactly where I am. I know that He is with me, and not only is He working on me, He’s also working in my situation. Now grant it early on this was not my mindset, however as I have succumbed (and this is the operative word) to my season of testing by making necessary changes in my attitude, and resolving to trust His word concerning myself, I have experienced (first hand) a marvelous change in my life. For starters I now know what it means to have peace that surpasses all understanding. Secondly, I can see how these fiery trials are burning away my old, fleshly ways of thinking and responding to unpleasant situations and people, and thirdly, I have grown to love and appreciate the Lordship of Jesus Christ over my life in ways unimaginable!

Thank God for maturity, because early on this was not my attitude. At the beginning of this season I frequently experienced feelings of frustration, disappointment, even impatience. I did everything from devising my own escape routes that would “rescue” me from my situation, to being tempted to throw up the peace sign and be done with the whole thing. My rationale was, “why should I remain in a place that is uncomfortable?” It just didn’t compute for me.

Fortunately nothing I tried worked. I thank God for that, now, because although I am still in this season I can see a greater good that is resulting from my experience. My rash decision-making in a situation I know is not my life sentence would have caused me to miss this blessing, and others that are one the way. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a glutton for punishment by any stretch of the imagination, but over time God has allowed me to see the beauty that is being produced by the fiery trials of life, and it looks pretty good if I must say so myself!

Are you in the midst of a season, circumstance, or situation that you are close to devising your own escape route that would “free” you from this time of refining? If this is your story, know that while it doesn’t feel comfortable, God is working a far greater good than a reprieve from your present situation could offer you. His Word tell us:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything”. James 1: 2-4

As you continue to endure your season of trial, I encourage you to stay in place and resist the urge to make a rash decision in a temporary situation. God sees you and knows just where you are and believe it or not, He is closer to you than you might think! I pray that He would open your eyes so that you may see glimpses of the greater good that is being perfected in you. May it encourage you to stay the course and continue pressing. Like me, your deliverance is on the way, but until it comes resolve to allow Him to continue perfecting that which concerns you!

God Bless You,

Dana

Leave a Reply

